There is Beauty All Around

Mt. Reindeer

“Mt. Reindeer”

The world is a beautiful place, no doubt about it. I don’t have to go far to recognize it either with the grandeur of Mt. Rainier a short distance away. But even we here in Seattle, as lucky as we are, grow far too accustomed to it. We drive along our roads and freeways with it towering in the distance some 29,000 feet high and ignore the beauty that is there. Amazingly taking it all for granted.

I’m reminded of my son Matt. As a little boy while riding in the car with me one afternoon he noticed the mountain (actually a volcano) amid the trees along the road ahead. With excitement in his voice and pointing toward it he said, “Look daddy, there’s Mt. Reindeer!” Might have been close to Christmas but despite his not quite understanding the name he wasn’t denied the joy a child has, and often acknowledges, for the interesting things they notice all around them.

But age and the hustle and bustle — those ever-present distractions of life — will often do that to us. They make us take the sights and sounds, as well as even the people around us for granted. I’d like to think I don’t take the important things of my life for granted, but I know I’m often guilty as well.

Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses and to appreciate your surroundings, family, friends and life itself especially for there is beauty all-around, if only we’ll take the time to notice.

FindBeauty
One comment on “There is Beauty All Around

  1. Glen Alan says:

    Rick, I just read your blog posting about Mt. Rainier. I was reared in Boise (mostly) and had an uncle who lived in the Seattle area in the early 1960s before moving to Honolulu. My immediate family took a trip from Boise to Seattle to visit him; I was very young and the only thing I remember about the trip is that I had my first experience with a shower (rather than a bathtub).

    Much more recently I had an awesome experience with the mountain. In June-July 1975 I was at Fort Lewis for Army ROTC advance camp. The first three weeks of the six-week experience it was overcast and usually drizzly. Then there was to be a three-day weekend to celebrate Independence Day. Our last day of training before this break we were to have a military parade on the Ft. Lewis parade ground; we’d been rehearsing for it during the gloomy-weather three weeks.

    That last day before the break dawned sunny. We got into the cattle trucks, rode over to the parade ground, and formed up. The order was given to “column right march”. I did the movement — and there before me past the end of the parade ground stood Mt. Rainier in all its glory! It took my breath away!

    So thanks for sharing your blog.

What do you think? Comments? Questions? Observations?

