The Power of Humor and Laughter

Humor does not diminish the pain – it makes the space around it get bigger.
Allen Klein

I’ve always been a jokester.  As I’ve written my boyhood best friend (bbf) and I were always cut ups and “the biggest fans of one another’s comedic skills.”  Comedy was our forte’!  (So we thought.)  I like to laugh.  I pity anyone who doesn’t.  Hard to believe there are people around who don’t much care for laughter… having a good time… a sense of humor. So it seems anyway.

There’s real power in humor and laughter.  They entertain us and make us feel good.  Laughter they say is the best medicine.  Laughter heals, alleviates pain, relieves stress and anxiety.  Researchers say humor is anti-aging and helps us live longer… and there’s more.

However, those powers of humor and laughter for many of us are slipping away.   Maybe it comes with age, we become way too serious.  Children tend to laugh a lot more than adults.  You’ve probably noticed.

The International Congress on Humor (who knew?) found that laughter is down as much as 82% from the 1950’s.  In those days people laughed on average 18 minutes a day.  Today, it’s between 4-6 minutes a day.  I guess laughter isn’t as much fun as it used to be.

Research has found uncontrollable laughter always happens when interacting with others.  As a matter of fact, a recent study found that people laugh 6 times more when with one person and 30 more times in a group.  While you can get a chuckle from jokes you read on the Internet, it’s not the same as the hearty laughter you enjoy when you’re around others.

Electronic media such as, television, computers, Internet, video and CD’s give us instant self-entertainment at the press of a button.  Who needs people?  In the past folks went outside their homes to find entertainment.  Socializing with friends and relatives was looked forward to… it was fun.  No longer is it true.  As a matter of fact, most people, especially couples who both hold jobs, can hardly find the time, nor do they have much inclination to socialize outside the home.

Kids’ laughter is spontaneous, contagious and happens without encouragement or stimulants.  We were born to laugh.  Babies start laughing when they’re 10-12 weeks old.  By the time they’re 4 years old, kids laugh on average 400 times a day.

It’s unfortunate but, adults stifle their kids’ natural inclination to laugh.  You might recognize the scolding words we’ve heard from some parents:

Wipe that stupid grin off your face!

Act your age!

Keep laughing and I’ll give you something to cry about.

Parents can be no funIs it any wonder some lose their ability and tendency to laugh?

Dr. Madan Kataria, a Mumbai physician who founded “Laughter Yoga” said, “We are treating children as adults much too early.  We are taking away their play time and robbing them of laughter.  They are not developing the social skills they need to deal with social problems and stress.  I am not surprised that violence is spreading in schools … around the world.

“For thousands of years children have laughed and played their way to adulthood.  During laughter and play they learn social skills to deal with social problems and stress and to resolve differences in socially acceptable ways.  Laughter has the power to unwind stress and provide you with the power to strengthen the mind, raise the spirit and mitigate tension” says Dr. Kataria.  “It’s no joke that laughter is nature’s creative way to keep us healthy and safe.”

So go ahead laugh it up.  Get together with friends.  Have a good time. make it a point to laugh, it isn’t hard.  Allow… even encourage humor into your lives.  Is it really too much to ask?

You can’t stay mad at somebody who makes you laugh. ~~ Jay Leno

Adapted from the following sources:

Humor-laughter.com

As Natural as Rain

Related Posts:

12 Ways to Happy


10 comments on “The Power of Humor and Laughter

  1. Brenda says:

    great read, in fact, a lot of it made me smile. I have always been a jokester myself, and I love to tell jokes even now. Sometimes, I am told I need to be more serious…but, seriously, I would rather have fun. Thanks for the story.

    • Rick Gleason says:

      Brenda,

      Serious for me is too boring to wallow in it for very long. I much prefer the other.

      As it’s written… there’s a time and place for everything.

      Thanks for following along and for your comments. They’re always appreciated.

  2. bonkasaurus says:

    How sad is that! I used to laugh all the time as a kid, now that I am in college i must say I laugh a lot less…… But I too am a jokester, So i like making other people laugh especially during serious situations. The tense atmosphere of seriousness makes me uncomfortable 🙂

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

  3. oldereyes says:

    When I was working I was known for cracking jokes at meetings, particularly if things got to serious. As a younger man, a lot of my humor was sarcasm which I read somewhere comes from Greek for “tearing flesh.” I’ve tried to cut down on the sarcasm but I still love to bust up a meeting with a one liner. One of my favorite times is when my grandkids get my wife laughing uncontrollably … she’s got a really infectious laugh and pretty soon, we’re all laughing away. The kids love it.

    Nice post …

  4. LisaaLinh says:

    Nicely written and I agree, laughter does wonders.

    – Lisa

  5. If we don’t laugh, we surely die. I try to laugh as often as possible…which usually leads to smiling as much as possible…and hopefully that rubs off on everyone else around me. We all need to laugh and smile more. It’s great, no-charge therapy.

  6. Very nice. I am certainly one who knows laughter is nothing but healthy. Not enough people laugh, I’m attempting to change that but it’s a long tough road. 🙂 Keep laughing!

  7. Jeni Hill Ertmer says:

    Definitely do agree with your words here! Laughter -especially joking around with co-workers -can alleviate a whole lot of issues in our lives. It lightens the workload immensely. The best boss I ever had was one who thoroughly enjoyed teasing, joking, pulling practical jokes, on most everyone on his staff. Just the thought of what silly things he might orchestrate in the office while getting ready to go to work made being at work something people looked forward to, not something to be dreaded or worse yet, hated! Works the same in our day-to-day life too and it is really the very best medicine. (Plus, it’s free -no hefty drug charges involved.) Have a fun day!

What do you think? Comments? Questions? Observations?

