The Arrival

Well, here I am in Lewiston, Idaho the night before day-one of a 23-day training class to earn my Class “A” Commercial Drivers License for employment with Swift Transportation.

The drive from Yakima was casual and beautiful. While passing through the Tri-Cities I get directions from a customer in a FedEx office. He says I just rode that highway on my motorcycle last weekend, you’ll love it, it’s a great ride. He was right.

The landscape changes along the way from the Columbia River through those fruited plains we all remember singing about as school kids. Along a curving and occasionally slightly climbing road I pass a number of historic markers and reminders that the route follows “The Lewis and Clark Trail.”

Along eastbound Washington highways 124 and 12 joining Pasco of the Tri-Cities with my destination there are beautiful farms and cattle grazing along the road and, in some places, scattered high among the rolling green hills in the distance. There are a number of small towns along the way I’d never heard of. This is all new road for me and hopefully just the beginning of many thousands of the same to come. There are towns like “Starbuck,” “Pomeroy” and “Dayton.” Visit Dayton a large sign says. Lewis and Clark did!

Eventually I’m driving along rugged mountainous cliffs beside the Lower Granite Lake. Here the two-lane turns into four and a short distance away is Clarkston. Good bye Washington state because just across the Snake River is Lewiston. My home for the next three-plus weeks.

On arrival this evening at about 7:15 at the motel I’m told that I have a roommate, but he’s not in the room right now. The attendant asks, “Are you from Idaho. ”No,“ I reply ”I’m from Yakima, Washington.“ She hands me an Idaho drivers handbook and say’s, ”You’ll have a test tomorrow. The shuttle to take you to the school will arrive here at 4:45 a.m.“ The room has wireless Internet but the woman says, ”The signals bad because of the winds.“

The motels a little ratty, and not as nice as what I had expected. When climbing the stairs to my room the smell reminds me of those days of the early 70’s when I was a newly graduated-from-Basic Air Force Airman, arriving at my first tech school in Illinois. There are the same old thoughts and apprehension of being away from family and friends in a new town while embarking on a new career that will no doubt change my life in ways that I can only imagine.

A quick check of my room and I leave a few items behind and head out to McDonald’s for a bite to eat. Then a little exploration of the city stopping off at the local Staples for a notebook and pens for tomorrows class. When I get back I meet my roommate. He’s a 44 year old self-proclaimed ”redneck“ from somewhere called ”Montana.“ We stayed up way too late than we should have, visiting and getting to know one another. Lucky for me he’s a good fit for the days ahead.

Eventually we “turn in” as our alarms, and a wake up call, are all set to go off at 4:00 a.m. to meet our shuttle to the training academy at 4:45.

Finally a warm bed to sleep in!

9 comments on “The Arrival

  1. Hey Rick!

    Imagine my surprise when checking my reader this a.m. I found 30 posts by your blog! Thirty posts! What the hell kind of marathon writer is this guy is what I was thinking. Then I spied your explanation about reposting from a previous blog and I decided, what the heck, dig in and read, Jeni!

    And read I did and enjoyed it too. It brought back lots of great memories to me, not of driving a semi but rather of the years I spent waitressing, primarily at one of the then best truckstops along I-80 in central PA -“The Shoe” as that place is commonly referred to by many, many truckers…. overall, I have to say I actually did love the place, the people and most especially the drivers! My son is now a trucker -having driven for 3 years as a “technical” employee of Fed-Ex … running mainly across the state from near Pittsburgh to near Allentown and back, day in, day out.

    And ya know what? Remember you last comments to me about taking my lead for posts whenever, wherever I can, from others post? Well I do believe I have my topic for today!

    Thanks for the memories!

    • Rick Gleason says:

      I can only imagine your surprise. Sorry about that … I didn’t even think to turn off the notifications when I reposted those. Does that mean my subscribers got 30 emails notifying them of a new posting? No doubt! Again my apologies to all!

      I can also imagine working like you did with all those truckers would be an experience in itself. Can YOU imagine the blogs you could have written about those days? “Confessions of a Truck Stop Waitress.”

      Thanks again Jeni and I’ll look forward to seeing what you’ve been inspired to write today.

  2. Cous, Judy says:

    Good for you ~ Keep on a truckin.

  3. Janice says:

    Hey!! What happened? No time for more?

  4. Jessica says:

    I am excited to hear more!

  5. Hey good luck Rick…do your trucks have XM radio i hope?…Keep on truckin (Bob C.)

  6. the osbornes says:

    It sounds like you are going to be able to enjoy alot of scenery out there. Are you taking pictures at all? That would be a good add on, to post those along with your blogs.

  7. the fidlers says:

    rick, good luck with your new job! it sounds like a great adventure.

What do you think? Comments? Questions? Observations?

