Favorite Quotes Friday – 1/3/2014

quotes

With the coming of yet another new year here’s a new and regular biweekly feature you can count on. It’s the first installment of my Favorite Quotes Friday!

Over the years I’ve collected quotes as I’ve heard and seen them. I’ve used them frequently in many of the posts I’ve written here. My collection, like many things that have become lifetime habits/obsessions, first began as a college class assignment. I regret that I’ve lost a few along the way but today the quotes I’ve gathered and categorized number more than 100 pages.

Some are short… just a few words, while others are several lines, a few maybe a paragraph or more. On a variety of subjects they range from the writings and utterances of the greatest minds in history to things I’ve heard friends say, and even a few I’ve come up with myself. There are those I’ve read in books, newspapers and magazines. Some I’ve heard on radio and television, and some I’ve seen on signs, bumper stickers and the Internet. No matter the source, if I hear or see something worthy of remembering, I try to write it down.

If you have comments or favorite quotes of your own you’d like to share please do so in the comments section below.

Here are three of my favorites that I share with you my friends on my inaugural “Favorite Quotes Friday.”

Enjoy!

____________________________________

Beauty is always in the eye of the beholder.  A sleeping bag under a bridge by a canal is still waterfront property. ~~ Jimmy Buffett, Singer, Songwriter in CD liner notes from the album “Hot Water”

Vice is a monster of so frightful mien, As to be hated needs but to be seen; Yet seen too oft, familiar with her face, we first endure, then pity, then embrace ~~ Alexander Pope, English Poet

The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist. ~~ Roger ‘Verbal’ Kint (Kevin Spacey), from the movie The Usual Suspects, 1995

2 comments on “Favorite Quotes Friday – 1/3/2014

  1. cherperz says:

    I love quotes. Sadly, I don’t tend to remember most of them long term because my brain moves on to all manner of minutiae. Still most quotes prompt’s us to think of something in a new or different way.

    Loved the Buffet quote. Most things can appear vastly different depending on the perspective.

  2. Stefanie says:

    I like it! Might even learn something!
    I don’t know if this is original, but when raising my son, Stuart, I frequently said: “Use your head because if you don’t, someone will be happy to use it for you!”

What do you think? Comments? Questions? Observations?

